A proper burger

Adventuring in Starkville, Mississippi

While I was living in Mississippi my friends took me to Mugshots Grill and Bar where I ordered Stu’s Magic Mushroom Burger. This was my first burger in over ten years. At some point, I just decided that red meat wasn’t my thing and switched to vegetarian or chicken burgers. I didn’t realize what I was missing! The burger was great, but it was the bun that I fell for! It was fresh and sweet. Almost brioche-like. I’ve yet to taste another burger bun like it (and I’ve been looking!).

Since then, I often find myself craving a burger – I would go out of my way for a good burger, especially while traveling. In NYC, my friends and I went to 5 Napkin Burger’s in Hell’s Kitchen. I ordered the lamb kofta burger and although it was good, it surprisingly wasn’t as memorable as Mugshot’s. I can’t wait to go back to try the Original 5 Napking Burger with caramelized onions, gruyere cheese and rosemary aioli…!

In 2010 I was in London for a few days and a friend (whose taste in food I absolutely trust) recommended Byron. I can’t tell you how far I walked or how many people I had to ask before I found the branch in Kensington. My mom who was incredibly easy-going that trip, almost snapped. After an hour of getting on and off buses and walking up and down the roads, she was trying to convince me to eat anywhere else. I am so glad I persisted! It was a young woman at a pretty shoe store that pointed us in the right direction, and to her, I am still grateful.

My pictures don’t do the burgers justice. I ordered one of their “proper” burgers, a classic 6 oz hamburger with lettuce, tomato, red onion and pickles. My mom got the Veggie – which wasn’t the typical patty of mashed God-knows-what. It was basically a humongous grilled portobello mushroom, with roasted red pepper, goat’s cheese on a bed of aioli and baby spinach in the perfect bun. YUM?

So now I’m not only on a mission to try more burgers, but to document the process. There’s a Shake Shack here in Kuwait (which I still didn’t get around to) but I can’t wait to try some of the other burger joints on this list.

One thought on “A proper burger

speak up!

