I have 30 minutes

before the Sleep Aid kicks in and this blog turns into the Chronicles of a Spaced Out Kuwaiti Woman.

Have you been wondering where I’ve been? Please say yes and indulge my fantasy (the one where I believe that some people check my blog on a regular basis and freak out when I don’t post for a day or two). I’ve been a little busy lately and to be honest I haven’t been inspired to write. The weather’s lovely during the day but I’m cooped up in a tiny cubicle that stagnates even the most brilliant of minds. So I leave work and I don’t want to stare another screen. But I end up in front of my laptop anyway, because I just can’t seem to remember what people did before The Golden Internet Era. I google holiday packages, hotels, restaurants. And salivate sigh. I’ve been really stressed out lately, hence the lack of sleep and my reliance on these magical little blue pellets that help me catch some much-needed Zs. I tend to ramble when I’m stressed – have you noticed?  I feel like I just need to get away for a bit.

Guess what happened the other day! I was out for a late lunch/early dinner and I ran into a tall, attractive man. The End.

I’m kidding.

So, I was at a small restaurant, chatting with a friend and enjoying my food when I noticed a handsome man who looked vaguely familiar standing not far from my table. “Oh I know that guy,” I blurted out to my friend. Fortunately, I was too far away for him to hear me. I quickly remembered that we did not part on the best terms (professionally speaking) and I suspect the guy of slander, too.

Seeing him made me think of how gullible I’ve been in the past, giving everyone the benefit of the doubt. Wait, I’ making it sound like I learnt something and changed, when in fact I haven’t. I am still quick to trust people despite the many metaphorical blows that some malicious characters have dealt me. O those blows. They left me reeling. Ironically though, I don’t think this a bad guy, or that he was out to hurt me. I think he (like so many others) truly believe that the only way they can get ‘ahead’ is by lying and making others seem inferior. In the past few years, I’ve had my fair share of his type. I may still be occasionally deceived by them (because they can be talented actors!) but I know better than to take it personally.

So I saw him — took a minute to recall what had transpired between us — and got back to my scrumptious dessert. Moral of the story? Dessert can’t wait.

On a completely unrelated note, I went to a great flamenco guitar concert tonight. The theatre was packed, but here’s a picture I managed to take.

A flamenco journey

The music was bold, bright and warm. It sounded like a walk through the cobblestoned Seville on a crisp October night.

4 thoughts on “I have 30 minutes

  1. I wish my sleep aids worked like yours seem to! And selfish ‘dog eat dog’ behaviour never ceases to amaze me.

    But at least you had flamenco.

    • Mine work in less than 45 minutes, and I only take half the recommended dosage. The trick is not to let my body get used to them and really deprive myself of sleep for several days.

      Yes, I had flamenco and it was beautiful :)

  2. I came across your blog early last December and now I cannot live without your blog. I have enjoyed going back in time and reading your posts from the very early days but now I have reached your last blog and I have been waiting and waiting for a new post. I do hope you would blog more often.

    • Hi Sheikha,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave THE nicest comment on my blog!
      I have neglected my blog lately as I have been swamped at work with absolutely no motivation to write but what you said made me smile and has definitely renewed my energy. I am so glad I have an avid reader and I promise to write more very soon. Thank you for making me smile

speak up!

