Shrimp and tomato tagliatelle

I made a quick lunch for my family this weekend and here’s the recipe. It’s hard to give you measurements, as I sort of made it up as I went along but adjust the recipe to your liking and experiment with different vegetables. I have a feeling that a red bell pepper would be good in this dish. I had a clear idea of how I wanted this dish to taste and worked in that general direction. I looked up several recipes before I started, but none had all the ingredients I had in mind.

Ingredients:

Shrimp (I’d say I used about 2 pounds of deveined shrimps for 6 people), onions, garlic, cherry tomatoes, fresh basil, parsley, mushrooms, olive oil, butter, salt, black pepper, red pepper, dried oregano, large lemon, Parmesan, several nests of tagliatelle

Recipe:

1. Quarter the onions and roughly chop the garlic.

2. In a large, heavy (and deep!) skillet heat some olive oil and butter. Add the onion & garlic.

3. Meanwhile halve the tomatoes and throw them in the skillet. Season to taste with salt, black pepper and oregano. Let the tomato cook & simmer for a few minutes.

4. Season the shrimp with salt, pepper and crushed red pepper. Let it sit for a few minutes.

5. Prepare the pasta.

6. Add the shrimp and parsley to the skillet.

7. When the shrimp’s almost ready – around 5 minutes on medium heat – add your (thickly) sliced mushrooms and let everything simmer. I had to add more spices at this point. If the water in the skillet seems a bit much, scoop it out and reserve it in a bowl, you might want to add it later.

8. When the shrimp is cooked and the mushrooms are tender, toss everything with the pasta and add the fresh basil.

9. Decorate with lemon slices.

10. Serve piping hot with grated Parmesan on the side.

It’s an easy and very forgiving recipe. Give it a try, play around with it and let me know what you come up with. I can’t wait to make it again and take better pictures. My family was too hungry to wait, so I snapped a quick photo of the pasta on my plate. Buon appetito!

speak up!

